Recent News

Living Ethics Across Media Platforms wins Clifford G. Christians Award for Research in Media Ethics. 

Will you be held accountable for requiring students to participate in a virtual world if they become the target of online harassers? The Chronicle of Higher Education

Michael Bugeja, director of the Greenlee School of Journalism and Communication, says, "If you want enlightened conversations on your site, people have to use their real names," he says, adding that news sites also should clearly differentiate comments from storiesUSA Today

click here for more new

Living Ethics re-titles and updates with more than 100 new sources and excerpts an ethics book from more than a decade ago. The prose is straightforward—no arcane definitions or philosophical gobbledygook here—and the advice for students appears wise  Loren Ghiglione, Northwestern University, in  Journalism & Mass Communication Educator
.
"This phosphorescent book puts communication ethics on a new order of magnitude. Living Ethics is destined to become a classic in the tradition of  Norbert Wiener's Cybernetics, Jacques Ellul's Propaganda, and Jean Baudrillard's Simulations. Brilliant in content and spectacular in research, a master teacher and public intellectual are at work here.  Establishing ethics discourse across media platforms is exactly what the field needs in a technological age and we'll never be able to think about ethics in static terms again.  With formalism discredited and relativism simplistic, Living Ethics is an ingenious alternative"Clifford G. Christians, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign 

"This is an important book
­a comprehensive look at media ethics, drawing on vital and pervasive concepts, and blessedly relevant to multiple media venues, not simply publishing, electronic media or digital media.  Big ideas about responsibility, fairness, bias, temptation are connected to specific examples, some powerful, some homely, but all useful. This is at once a treatise for serious readers and a text for students and professionals in a world where convergence is not only conceptual, but also part of the lives of people who work across platforms too.  A very useful contribution to the literature, building on and greatly amplifying an earlier edition"Everette Dennis, Distinguished Professor, Fordham University

"Living Ethics is full of wisdom and insight, featuring both the philosophical foundations that underpin ethics and real-life examples about how to apply ethics in our morally converged world. Talk about relevant! Rather than hypotheticals, the book is filled with real stories about plagiarism, graphic video, satire, sexual harassment, photojournalism, and direct quotes. It's the best ethics book in communications" —  Paul Parsons, Dean, Elon University 
  
click here for more reviews
Order Online
Living Ethics
across media platforms     

Order from Oxford University Press
In a seamlessly wired world of television, computers and BlackBerrys, where does ethics fit in? To address that question,
Living Ethics calls for a moral convergence to complement the technological one. Identifying principles that apply across platforms, journalist Michael Bugeja has created a thorough and well-researched work that avoids the prescriptive language used by many texts; instead, he encourages critical thinking through examples that build, test and enhance readers' value systems.

While many ethics texts focus almost exclusively on news ethics,
Living Ethics emphasizes unifying principles that collapse and transcend the boundaries of a wide variety of media sourcesincluding newspapers, magazines, radio, television, public relations, photojournalism, advertising, and other forms of traditional and online mass communication. As readers will discover, the circumstances of ethical issues may vary, but the moral processes used to resolve them are basically the same.

Leading ethicists and journalism educators have praised the work, which won the Clifford G. Christians Award for Research in Media Ethics in 2009.
 
Resolutely practical,
Living Ethics is written in a clear and cogent style that helps readers:
  • Understand unifying principles from historical, philosophical and political perspectives.
  • Grasp the utility of principles that engage audiences and clients while respecting the diverse cultures in an increasingly global media environment.
  • Explore moral convergence through the eyes of more than 100 practitioners at major newsrooms, agencies, and organizations.
  • Examine ethical issues visually through more than 20 photos and illustrations.
  • Develop a set of principles to guide their careers across a multitude of platforms.
Michael Bugeja, an award-winning educator and author, is a practicing journalist whose work appears regularly in The Chronicle of Higher Education, Inside Higher Ed, The Quill and Editor & Publisher. A distinguished ethicist and new media scholar, his views on standards and technology are cited in such outlets as USA Today, the Washington Post, the Christian Science Monitor, International Herald Tribune, The Guardian and other international media.  Living Ethics Across Media Platforms combines his scholarship in ethics and research in new media with his journalistic prowess and practical methods, making this book a standout edition for students and practitioners alike.